Havoc and Devastation

This is a poem I wrote a few weeks ago that I never intended on sharing with anyone, however after discovering The Darkest Fairytale‘s blog, I was inspired to post my own poetry. As always, let me know what you guys think!

I don’t get why no one gets me.

What’s inside is something they just can’t see.

I have a lot of dreams and many aspirations,

But while I’m here all I create is havoc and devastation.

 

I want to spread my wings and fly,

Away from this hell and these prying eyes.

Then I feel that familiar pull,

Dragging me down where their minds are so dull.

Sometimes its easy, faking content,

But mostly its draining, so much time spent.

 

A constant nagging deep down in my gut,

Keeps on reminding me I’m stuck in a rut.

I’ve lost who I am now I cant even see,

Why no one ever seemed to get me.

The dreams and aspirations I may never achieve,

All the havoc and devastation because I don’t know how to leave.

5 thoughts on “Havoc and Devastation

  1. thedarkestfairytale says:

    This is brilliant and i wouldn’t change a word- my tip, its my little trick, to use a comma in one sentence to break it up, it creates two stories from one line a bit of an illusion, and you can write two different things not related in one line but somehow makes sense, done an example below

    Sat drinking my tea, my minds in overdrive
    Watching this shit film, will i be able to survive.

    ive added them into the first paragraph below. But keep up writing poetry this is really good, you should be proud.

    I don’t get why, no one gets me,

    What’s inside, is something they just can’t see,

    I have a lot of dreams, and many aspirations,

    But while I’m here, all I create is havoc and devastation,

    xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

